There was evidence of a vineyard on the Old Walls land more than 2000 years ago.
The Romans took advantage of the south facing slopes and well-drained soil, as we are doing
The name ‘Old Walls’ has been adopted from its proximity to another place of historical interest, The ‘Bishops Palace’. Walter Bronsecombe, a native of Exeter, took over as bishop in 1258, displaying an integrity of character and attention to ecclesiastical duties. He secured a market and fair for Bishopsteignton in 1270, and during the following decade instigated the construction of the Bishop’s Palace, the inspiration of the naming of Old Walls Vineyard. All that is left of the 13th century building are some small sections of wall which we have taken care to help restore and keep on display for future generations.
When you visit us why not take time to see this fascinating insight into Devon’s past. The vineyard also has a lovely Tea Room with a covered outside eating area overlooking the spectacular countryside.